The Dog Made Me Do It

I was sound asleep until the the dog stood at the foot of the bed. I know his habit patterns, so I kept my eyes shut and did not move. Slowly, he stepped toward me. Before he had a chance to ‘slurp’ me face, I opened my eyes and said, “OK, you have to go to the bathroom.” He knows the tone of my voice, so he was already on his way to the door while I staggered through the house trying to wake up enough to function. Outside he took his liberty and I glanced to the East. It was just before 5 am. Dawn’s early light was just beginning to show but above it and through the morning mist were Venus, Jupiter, and the Pleiades–all lined up just as pretty as you please.

With some effort to get fully conscious, I grabbed a sketch pad to do a “quickie” from the vantage point on the West side of our little plastic observing dome.

All the while, I was thinking about the precious time before dawn when the air is usually still, the skies most often clear, and the heavens are just beginning to fade. Dawn is mentioned in the scripture often, but we often forget the hand of God to make it so perfect from a priviledged planet. It was a good morning to give thanks.

About rolandlinda3

We avidly enjoy the observation of God's creation in terms of stars, the moon, and earthly things. We teach others to observe what He has made. Part of the outreach and work is to maintain a site: www.christworksministries.org [or use the new address www.cwm4him.org]. This site has been changed to include this blog along with three other inspirational blogs. We invite you to take a look and follow us there. Whether here or at the new site, our purpose is unchanged. We aim to share the love of Jesus Christ, who has graciously kept us and made us excited about seeing what he has made. Our faith is a walking faith, so faith and works, as much as we are able, are married together.
This entry was posted in art, astronomy, creation, God, heavens, inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Dog Made Me Do It

  1. I’ve muttered recriminations against the cat at times for waking me to let him out in the middle of the night and then marveled at the stars. God is good.

    • rolandlinda3 says:

      Yes, it’s those funny times where some unforseen circumstance gets me in front of the skies. This little dog has been “responsible” for several observations that were not originally scheduled.

Leave a Reply

