Bathrobe Skygazing

I could not sleep. I also could not tell what time it was but the setting full moon told me it was near dawn. I grabbed a robe and went outside for a minute–long enough to see a beautiful sky before dawn light had taken hold.

I found my Queen awake when I returned to the bedroom. She could not sleep either. It had been less than 48 hours since the chemo, so her sleep habits were still messed up. I told her about the sky I had seen. To my surprise, she was willing to step into the cool damp air and take a look. So she grabbed her pink (of course) robe and made her way slowly outside. When she gets up rapidly this close the medicine, she is a bit unsteady. So she made her way slowly through house and went out the back door. She stopped about 20 feet from the back door and turned around to face South. She leaned back on me as a brace before we both looked from West to zenith and to the East.

The setting moon was bright and low in the West. The winter circle was almost straight overhead, except that is was altered with the bright and conspicuous presence of Jupiter. Venus was high in East. We gazed for a few moments and talked about the wonder of it all. Dawn light was just beginning to make itself known. There was just barely enough light to make out the pink in her robe and the blue in mine.

She went in and went right to sleep. I sketched with a piece of construction paper and whatever media was handy before I crashed in bed.

Some precious moments go by quick. It is best to give thanks for them. We did.

About rolandlinda3

We avidly enjoy the observation of God's creation in terms of stars, the moon, and earthly things. We teach others to observe what He has made. Part of the outreach and work is to maintain a site: www.christworksministries.org [or use the new address www.cwm4him.org]. This site has been changed to include this blog along with three other inspirational blogs. We invite you to take a look and follow us there. Whether here or at the new site, our purpose is unchanged. We aim to share the love of Jesus Christ, who has graciously kept us and made us excited about seeing what he has made. Our faith is a walking faith, so faith and works, as much as we are able, are married together.
This entry was posted in inspiration, observation and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bathrobe Skygazing

  1. Beautiful post. It’s moments like these that we remember for a lifetime. Thank you for reminding me.

  2. Thanks for this post Roland. I agree.. this reminds me of how important life is and those who mean the most to us.

  3. godmadeknown says:

    You are so right about cherishing those precious moments together, somehow so much more poignant under God’s magnificent canopy. Have gotten into the habit of waking up one of our little guys when I can’t sleep and taking them out star-gazing with me at night. Pulling sleeping children out of bed in the middle of the night does go contrary to all my best mothering instincts but they do manage to fall right back to sleep and enjoy it so much. Definitely worth it.

Leave a Reply

