Tenderness in the Morning

When we are doing our own thing, becoming concious in the morning is not particularly noteworthy. However, when God is involved, and He often is, there is a choice, and something can happen that was not planned or expected.

I sleep soundly normally. It is my practice as a believer in the Lord Jesus Christ to find a little time in the first few minutes of conciousness to address my Father or acknowledge Him. Sometimes I am doing this as I stagger awake–trying to clear my eyes of sleepiness and avoid bumping into things as I launch out of bed. Sometimes I stay standing or walking, because if I sit I will fade away.

But there are special mornings that are different. Yesterday was one. I woke hearing my name in my heart; it was sharp and sudden. When that happens I usually don’t know why, but I know enough: go to Him in prayer. This time I had no guidance, no idea why the call, and no inspiration. But faith in Him gets launched as I speak and begin to pray. The period ended quietly. I still don’t know what really happened, but don’t need to. When the Father gets our attention, no matter when it is, it is time to do business with Him.

Recalling this event yesterday reminds me of an early morning several years ago. I woke to a rising crescent moon in the Eastern sky in the desert. The sketch is below. When I sketch, it’s usually time with Him as well. While it is not a standard prayer time, I talk to Him. He’s there.

If it happens to you (if you wake up for no apparent reason), why not address the Father. If you don’t know Him, it might be your opportunity to start down that path that will introduce you to Him. If you are a believer, wipe the cobwebs away and resolve to pray. Presume it is no accident. After all, you may be just waking, but He is already awake and waiting.

080620WaningMoon2

About rolandlinda3

We avidly enjoy the observation of God's creation in terms of stars, the moon, and earthly things. We teach others to observe what He has made. Part of the outreach and work is to maintain a site: www.christworksministries.org [or use the new address www.cwm4him.org]. This site has been changed to include this blog along with three other inspirational blogs. We invite you to take a look and follow us there. Whether here or at the new site, our purpose is unchanged. We aim to share the love of Jesus Christ, who has graciously kept us and made us excited about seeing what he has made. Our faith is a walking faith, so faith and works, as much as we are able, are married together.
This entry was posted in God, inspiration, Jesus Christ and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

